The Prosperity Gospel

Okay.

There was a time in my life when I would have had a hard time -not with what John Piper is saying, but how he is saying this. But I would have been wrong.

This is a dangerous, misleading false teaching that MUST be eradicated.

Yes, these are intense words, but our day and our theology causes for it. May we continue to converse about these issues, so that we find ourselves only satisfied in Jesus. Our life and the world depends on it.

Now, I’m not sure I agree with 100% of it, but it’s important that we guard our theology. Read I Timothy 4 and 6. Paul thought so.

Kudos to Jimmie Gillespie for telling me about this.

Now let’s converse…

Oh – by the way, this applies to health and suffering too:) I surely would love to learn more with you about these issues. As for the suffering issues, I have a lot of opinions from this past year through my own health deficiences. It caused me to study it like never before. And I think I’ve heard everything under the sun. There’s certainly a lot there about what we’d like for theology to be.

3 Responses to “The Prosperity Gospel”

  1. thecrazypastor Says:

    Wow. Bryan that is so incredibly right on the money. Thank you for posting this. God love ya brother for saying it, too.

  2. The Crazy Pastor Says:

    [...] by thecrazypastor on August 13th, 2007 John Piper on the prosperity gospel I saw this on Bryan Davidson’s blog, and I couldn’t agree with it more. The health and wealth prosperity doctrine is idolatry [...]

  3. thebeliever Says:

    that was quite powerful, thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

